The Sacraments in 2 Minutes



What is a Sacrament?

St. Augustine in the 5th century describes a sacrament as ‘an outward and visible sign of an inward and invisible grace’ Historically, the word sacrament developed from the Greek word ‘mysterium’ and the Latin word ‘sacramentum’. Mysterium means ‘hidden or secret’.


1. Baptism

Baptism is the sacrament of Salvation and the Door to all other sacraments.

2. Confirmation

Confirmation provides a special outpouring of the Holy Spirit, which helps the confirmed Catholic lead a mature Christian life.

3. Eucharist

The Eucharistic sacrifice is the source and summit of all Christian life. It commemorates the death and Resurrection of Christ.

4. Penance

Through Penance, the faithful receive pardon through Gods mercy for the sins they have committed.

5. Anointing of The Sick

This Sacrament offers the comfort of God’s grace to those who are ill.

6. Marriage

The Church has a rich tradition in its teachings on sacramental marriage and covenantal union.

This sacrament joins a man and a woman together in a life-long covenant of self-giving love.

7. Holy Orders

Holy orders is the sacrament by which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s